STC Awards

The Society for Technical Communication (STC) is the professional organization that represents technical communicators around the world. There are annual publication competitions, as well as other opportunities for recognition of the work that groups, individuals, and chapters do on behalf of the profession.

The local chapter, STC Toronto, held their Annual General Meeting on June 11, 2008 and presented a number of awards to members and friends of the STC. Among those receiving awards were Vivian Aschwanden, Michele Marques, the team of Andrew Steer, Michael Lush and Mark Liddell from Rogers Communications, Veronica Kutt from FrontRunner, and Jennifer Paton Smith.

A graduate of the Seneca Technical Communication program, Sheldon D’Cunha, received a President’s award for his work as the Volunteer Manager for the chapter, and Beth Agnew, the Seneca TechComm program co-ordinator, received a President’s award “For actively guiding and supporting peers and junior technical communicators to meet their technical communication goals”.

It is always gratifying to receive recognition from one’s peers, especially for any effort that is given out of commitment, passion, and professionalism. Congratulations to all the award recipients!

This entry was posted in Seneca, STC, Tech Comm, Writing Life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *